780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

Close Finish At End of 2018 Iron Dog; Morgan and Olds Come Out On Top

Checkered flag, Nome-Golovin 2015

Team #10 of Morgan and Olds maintained their lead from checkpoint to checkpoint after leaving the halfway point in Nome, eventually reaching Fairbanks first at noon on Saturday. Brad George and Robby Schachle of Team #6 caught up to within five minutes of Morgan and Olds, but couldn’t pass them at the end.

Iron Doggers Awarded Their Prizes During Halfway Ceremony for 2018 Race

Mike Morgan of Nome and racing partner Chris Olds receive awards for being fastest team into Nome in 2018 Iron Dog race. Photo Credit: Gabe Colombo, KNOM (2018)

Jim Wilke, President of the Board of Directors, gave out awards to top Iron Dog racers last night, such as $8,000 from the Bering Sea Lions Club for the fastest time overall from White Mountain to Nome, which went to team #10, Chris Olds and Mike Morgan, along with $10,000 in gold coins from Donlin Gold.

2018 Iron Dog Begins Sunday; 27 Pro Class Teams Set To Race 2,000 Miles

Iron Dog racers coming into Nome during the race in 2014. Photo: KNOM file.

Wilke says 27 teams are now running in the pro class as Steven Boney and Oliver Unruh have decided not to compete due to injuries. The 2018 Iron Dog pro class roster features Western Alaska racers such as Micah Huss, Tre West and Casey Perkins of Nome, Chris Collins of Kotzebue and his partner Lawrence Jones of Ambler.

2018 Iron Dog Roster Features 27 Teams, 21 Rookies, But Not 2017 Champions

Team #8, Aklestad/Johnson, reviewing their sleds

2017 champs Cory Davis of Soldotna and Ryan Simons of Alberta, Canada, claimed the win after another team, Tyson Johnson and Tyler Aklestad, were controversially disqualified. According to a press release from Iron Dog, Inc., Davis is focusing on the X-Games and Simons is healing from a back injury, so neither racer will compete this year.