780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

2018 Iron Dog Roster Features 27 Teams, 21 Rookies, But Not 2017 Champions

Team #8, Aklestad/Johnson, reviewing their sleds
Team #8, Aklestad/Johnson, reviewing their sleds. Photo courtesy of Matthew McGee.

Registration for the 2018 Iron Dog Snowmachine Race closes tomorrow. As of today, 27 teams are signed up to compete, and last year’s champions are not on the list.

2017 champs Cory Davis of Soldotna and Ryan Simons of Alberta, Canada, claimed the win after a controversial disqualification of another team, Tyson Johnson and Tyler Aklestad.

According to a press release from Iron Dog, Inc., Davis is focusing on the X-Games, and Simons is healing from a back injury, so neither racer will compete this year.

Expect to see Johnson and Aklestad out on the Iron Dog trail come February as they look to rebound from their early departure from last year’s race. Aklestad and Johnson did cross the finish line first in 2017. But before that, the pair made a stop at a site called Bible Camp outside of Tanana, where two bystanders were photographed pushing down on the back of their machines. According to Iron Dog race rules, physical contact between racers and other people on that part of the trail is prohibited, which led to Johnson and Aklestad’s disqualification in the 2017 race.

Other notables signed up to compete in the upcoming Iron Dog include Tre West of Nome, who will ride with Aaron Bartel of Anchorage; the team of Klinton and Kris VanWingerden; as well as Ryan Sottosanti and Micah Huss, who finished third last year.

So far, 21 rookie racers are signed up, and two of those individuals are also on the only all-female team registered to compete in the 2018 Iron Dog. Rachel Kidwell of Anchorage and Ashley Wood of Wasilla will wear bib number 22 for the more than 2,000 miles from Big Lake to Nome to Fairbanks.

According to Iron Dog archives, only one all-female team has ever successfully finished the race.

The 2018 Iron Dog official start takes place in Anchorage on February 17th.

Image at top: Team #8, Aklestad/Johnson, reviewing their sleds. Photo courtesy of Matthew McGee.

Share this story


Recent Posts

Goldbug Fire Grows to Over 4,500 Acres

The Goldbug Fire, located about 25 miles south of Deering, has rapidly expanded to 4,633 acres as of the morning of June 15. Alaska Fire Service has mobilized a crew of six smoke jumpers to provide protection to a mining site just one quarter mile from the fire’s edge. At

Read More »

KNOM Radio to Host First-Ever Music Fest

KNOM Radio Mission will host its first-ever Music Fest Friday and Saturday, June 14 and 15. The event, hosted at KNOM’s Back Yard, will be a great opportunity for the Bering Strait region to gather and celebrate the start of summer. Admission to the event is free.  The two-day Music Fest will feature

Read More »

June 13: Rick Thoman’s Climate Highlight for Western Alaska

The following is a transcript from Rick Thoman’s weekly “Climate Highlight for Western Alaska” provided to KNOM Radio. Thoman is a Climate Specialist with the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Sea ice has not completely melted out of the Bering Sea, there

Read More »

Teller Man Arrested for Terroristic Threatening

A Teller man has been arrested and transported to Nome’s Anvil Mountain Correctional Center following allegations of threatening to burn down a house, according to an affidavit from Alaska State Troopers. The affidavit reports that Chester Topkok, 26, was reported by his niece, Belinda Smith, who called Troopers on June

Read More »



Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.