780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

Iron Dog racers on layover in McGrath, Aklestad & Olstad building lead as finish line approaches

Racers approach checkpoint Rohn. Photo courtesy of Iron Dog.

Team 7 of Tyler Aklestad and Nick Olstad have increased their lead on the second position team to almost 35 minutes.

Although Casey Boylan and Bryan Leslie were cutting into that margin Feb. 23, they are running out of time to claim first in this year’s Iron Dog snowmachine race.

The top teams are all on 12 hour layovers currently in McGrath. Aklestad and Olstad checked in first at 11:19 p.m. last night and will be set to depart at 11:19 a.m. today.

Nome’s Miller brothers, Jarvis and Jordan, are now firmly in fourth position with a total course time of just more that 51 hours.

Once the leaders get to Skwentna, the final checkpoint before the finish, they will have a mandatory hold and then be released based on their split times.

All teams can take up to 40 hours of layover time before reaching Skwentna, according to race rules.

Fifteen teams still remain in this year’s race. There have been no new scratches since they departed the halfway point in Nome.

Image at top: Racers approach checkpoint Rohn. Photo courtesy of Iron Dog, used with permission.

Did you enjoy this Iron Dog story?

Consider supporting our work by becoming a one-time or recurring donor.

Share this story


Recent Posts

Open Comment Period Opens for Boulder Creek Uranium Property

The Alaska Department of Natural Resources (DNR) has announced an open comment period for the Boulder Creek property located north of Elim. The call for public comment will give proponents and opponents an opportunity to voice their opinions on the project before a decision on granting a permit is made. 

Read More »

Tony Matson Celebrates 40 Years with Bering Air

Employees stood scattered throughout the H1 hangar of Bering Air’s Nome headquarters. All eyes were on Tony Matson as he descended down a dark stairwell. Applause echoed against the walls of the large facility as it was announced that July 12, 2024 was Matson’s 40th anniversary with the regional airline. 

Read More »

Family, Friends Gather to Celebrate Life of Richard Beneville

Rain dribbled as family and friends of the late Mayor of Nome Richard Beneville gathered around a white cross bearing an inscription of his name and signature catch phrase “Hello Central!”. At the base of the cross purple velvet was draped over a freshly placed headstone.  Richard Beneville’s niece, Susan

Read More »

July 11: Rick Thoman’s Climate Highlight for Western Alaska

The following is a transcript from Rick Thoman’s weekly “Climate Highlight for Western Alaska” provided to KNOM Radio. Thoman is a Climate Specialist with the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Nome is off to by far the wettest start of any July

Read More »



Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.