Aklestad and Olstad win Iron Dog 2023

The Iron Dog 2023 snowmachine race wrapped up Saturday in Big Lake, with team 7 of Tyler Aklestad and Nick Olstad winning their second straight victory.

The duo, who also won the race in 2020, arrived at Big Lake at 12:05 p.m. and recorded a course time of 52 hours, 58 minutes and 32 seconds.

Team 14, comprised of Casey Boylan and Bryan Leslie arrived 36 minutes later at 12:41 p.m. In third place, team 39’s Brett Lapham and Cody Barber finished at 1:04 p.m.

Nome’s Miller brothers, Jarvis and Jordan, finished in fourth place at 1:53 p.m. with a course time of 59 hours, 59 minutes and 29 seconds. This is their best Iron Dog finish to date.

Nome’s Cody Moen and Wasilla’s Chad Gueco finished in ninth place with a course time of 67 hours, 50 minutes and 49 seconds.

The 15 teams that finished ran the race at an average of 50.42 mph during the second half of competition, after leaving the halfway point in Nome.

More information on all the finishers can be found at the Iron Dog website.

Image at top: The top three teams in the Iron Dog 2023 snowmachine race pose with their trophies on Saturday. Photo courtesy of Iron Dog, used with permission (2023).