780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

New map for House District 39 to encompass Lower Yukon River communities

Final map of House District 39 based on the Alaska Redistricting Board's proclamation plan passed last week. Map courtesy of Redistricting Board, 2021.

On Nov. 10, the Alaska Redistricting Board adopted its final legislative district boundaries. Pending any potential lawsuits or challenges to the adopted maps, House District 39, which contains much of Western Alaska, will be sizably smaller.

The current district map that has been in place since 2013, puts the entire Norton Sound region, St. Lawrence Island and the majority of Lower Yukon River communities into the same House District. It also included Interior communities to the east, like Galena and Huslia, following the Yukon River beyond Ruby. Nulato, Koyukuk, Galena, Ruby and Huslia will all now be part of House District 36-R.


Melanie Bahnke of Kawerak and the rest of the Redistricting Board have elected to remove those Interior communities from House District 39. This was done in part to achieve the constitutionally required population number of 18,335 people per district, based on the latest Census data from 2020. According to that same data, the Nome Census area gained about 500 residents compared to the previous count in 2010.

In addition to losing a few communities, House District 39 also gained some. The board’s final plan brings Pilot Station, Marshall and Russian Mission into the same House District as the rest of the Lower Yukon School District communities. Alakanuk, Emmonak, Hooper Bay, Marshall, Mountain Village, Nunam Iqua, Pitkas Point, Pilot Station, Scammon Bay and Russian Mission will all be part of House District 39 based on the final maps drawn by the Redistricting Board.

District 39 and a few others set by the final plan are, “in compliance with the Federal Voting Rights Act and would preserve the ability of Alaska Native voters to elect candidates of their choice,” according to the independent legal counsel for the Board.

During the Board’s final negotiations last week, allegations of potential gerrymandering that could open the plan to lawsuits were brought up. Ultimately, Bahnke and fellow Board member Nicole Borromeo voted against the proclamation plan due to the pairing of two separate districts from Eagle River with two areas that cover South Muldoon in Anchorage and Joint Base Elmendorf-Richardson.

“We deserve better as Alaskans, whether we’re Republicans, or Democrats, or Independents or undeclared, rural Alaskans, or urban,” Bahnke said after the final vote on Wednesday.

(Click the video link below to watch the full video recording of the Alaska Redistricting Board’s final meeting on Nov. 10.)

Image at top: Final map of House District 39 based on the Alaska Redistricting Board’s proclamation plan passed last week. Map courtesy of Redistricting Board, 2021.

Did you enjoy this Elections/Politics story?

Consider supporting our work by becoming a one-time or recurring donor.

Share this story


Recent Posts

FEMA Announces $108 Million Awarded to Merbok Related Projects

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and the Alaska Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and Emergency Management announced the approval of $108.8 million for Alaskan communities reeling from 2022’s Typhoon Merbok. The storm’s 75 mph winds, relentless rain, and unusually high sea swells flooded communities across western Alaska. Following a

Read More »

Front Street Resurfacing Project Receives New Funding

The long-awaited resurfacing of Front Street in Nome continues to move forward, thanks in part to an additional $363,800 in funding from the State of Alaska’s 2025 budget. The project has been in the works since 2019 when the Department of Transportation (DOT) allocated $5.5 million in Community Transportation Project

Read More »

Local Athletes, Competitors Shine at WEIO 2024

Regional residents descended on Fairbanks last week to take part in WEIO 2024. The annual event that began in 1961 celebrates native sports and culture. Competitors from the Seward Peninsula and nearby region are bolded below.  Seal Skinning 1st Place: Casey Ferguson, Anchorage, 2 min 2.19 sec 2nd Place: Marjorie

Read More »

Sockeye Salmon Limit Lifted on Pilgrim River

The Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) has announced a waiver on annual per-household harvest limits for sockeye salmon on the Pilgrim River, effective 12:01 a.m. on Monday, July 15. Recent escapement projections indicate that the escapement goal for sockeye salmon at the Pilgrim River weir will be met,

Read More »



Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.