Prevailing Against Former Snowmachine Race Champions, Tre West Wins 2018 Kotzebue Race

Tre West

The 2018 Archie Ferguson/Willie Goodwin Sr. Memorial Snowmachine Race is in the books, and a Nome-ite has taken home the win.

Tre West of Nome finished first overall, completing the annual snowmachine race starting from Kotzebue in 2 hours, 27 minutes, 34 seconds. West finished Saturday afternoon a little over a minute before fellow Nome competitor, and 2018 Nome-Golovin winner, Jarvis Miller.

65 racers were spread out between three different divisions: the fan-cooled (A) class, the 0-600cc (B) class, and the open (C) class. Iron Dog snowmachine race veterans like Evan Booth, Mike Morgan, and Tre West all competed in the open/C class, whereas racers like Nick Olstad, Quinn Schaeffer, and Thor Lie competed in the B class.

As the overall winner and the winner of the C class, West takes home over $8,000 in prize money. Thor Lie received almost $8,500 for finishing first in the B class, and Derek Garfield won almost $4,000 for winning the fan-cooled/A class.

Image at top: file photo: Tre West during sign-ups for the 2016 Nome Golovin snowmachine race. Photo: KNOM.