780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

One New Board Member Elected During BSNC’s 2017 Annual Shareholder Meeting

Nome, seen from the frozen Bering Sea on the 2014 winter solstice. (Photo: Courtney Cousins, KNOM.)

Four out of the five board members up for election on the Bering Straits Native Corporation’s Board of Directors will keep their seats, following BSNC’s 2017 shareholder meeting earlier this month.

Henry Ivanoff, Sr., who also serves as Chairman, remains on the board along with Robert (Bobby) Evans, Homer E. Hoogendorn, and Roy C. Ashenfelter. Ashenfelter is also the elected Secretary for BSNC.

The one outgoing board member, Fred N. Sagoonick, will be replaced by Deborah Atuk. Atuk and the reelected board members will serve for the next three years until their terms expire. The other ten members on the 15-person board were not up for re-election this year.

BSNC’s election results also show that Gail Schubert will continue to be President and CEO of the Native Corporation, a position she has held since 2009.

Image at top: Nome, seen from the frozen Bering Sea on the 2014 winter solstice. (Photo: Courtney Cousins, KNOM.)

Share this story


Recent Posts

Round Two: U-Call We-Haul Trash Pickups Return

Overwhelming response to the recent U-Call We-Haul event has prompted the City of Nome to go for another round. Thursday and Friday, June 10-11 residents within city limits will have one more chance to to call and schedule a trash pickup.  Angie Nguyen from the City Manager’s office shared that

Read More »
A long table with a gavel resting on it. American flag in background.

City of Nome Finalizes $17.9 Million Budget for 2025

The Nome Common Council finalized the city’s fiscal year 2025 budget during its meeting on Monday, June 10. The approved General Municipal Fund Budget stands at $17,948,567.33, reflecting a slight decrease from the 2024 fiscal year’s amended budget. A $2,390,600.97 deficit is expected and will be financed through appropriations. Revenues

Read More »

Wednesday Night in Nome: Miss ANB Pageant Returns

The Miss ANB Pageant will be held at 7:00 p.m. June 12 at the Mini Convention Center in Nome. Organized by Janet Tobuk and her daughter Marsha Tobuk, the event highlights the traditions and cultural knowledge of contestants from the Bering Strait region.  This year all contestants are first-time participants,

Read More »



Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.