NSHC Board of Directors Holds Annual Meeting, Elects Members, Renews Gorn’s Contract

The Board room where NSHC's Board of Directors held their 47th annual meeting. Photo credit: Davis Hovey, KNOM (2017)

The top brass of the Norton Sound Health Corporation Board of Directors will remain in their seats, for at least another year.

NSHC’s Board of Directors convened in Nome this week for their annual meeting, which lasted three days. Yesterday, the Board voted to keep Jacob Ivanoff of Unalakleet as the Board Chair. Martin Aukongak of Golovin moved up from second Vice Chair to first, while Heather Payenna of King Island was selected as second Vice Chair.

After an almost unanimous decision, Stan Anderson of Nome will keep his position as Treasurer. Anderson was also voted Board Member of the Year during the Board’s 47th annual meeting.

Mary D. Charles of White Mountain and Berda Wilson of Council essentially switched positions. Charles moved up to Secretary from her former office as Assistant Secretary-Treasurer, the position which Wilson will now hold.

Preston Rookok of Savoonga and Jenny Lee of Teller are now Executive Members #2 and #3, replacing June Walunga of Gambell and Matilda Hardy of Shaktoolik. Morris Nassuk of Koyuk remains Executive Member #1.

Before moving on to other business, the NSHC Board unanimously approved a new three-year contract, which includes an increased salary, with President and CEO Angie Gorn.

Further details regarding Gorn’s contract were not disclosed during the annual Board meeting.

Image at top: the Board room where NSHC’s Board of Directors held their 47th annual meeting. Photo: Davis Hovey, KNOM (2017).