780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

Official election results for Nome’s Municipal Election

Municipal elections in Nome take place at Old St. Joe's on Tuesday, October 3rd.

The preliminary results for the 2023 Nome’s annual municipal election are in. There were four candidates vying for four three-year terms, and two candidates for two-year terms. All positions were uncontested. A majority of the candidates were running for reelection. 

A total of 204 ballots were cast. The official results were announced during a special Common Council meeting on Thursday (Oct. 5) at noon. The results are as followed:

  • Mayor  – John Handeland with 288 votes and 29 write-ins.
  • Common Council Seat “A” – Adam Marinson with 181 votes and just 13 write-ins. 
  • Common Council Seat “B” – Maggie Miller earning 166 votes and 25 write-ins.
  • Utility Board Seat “B”- Patrick Knodel with 189 votes and six write-ins.
  • Utility Board Seat “E” – Carl Emmons garnering 189 votes and six write-ins.
  • School Board Seat “B” – Bob Metcalf earning 190 votes and eight write-ins. 

All terms are three-year, except Mayor and Utility Board Seat ‘B” which are two-year terms. 

The turnout in Tuesday’s election was 8.1% of local eligible voters. Out of 2,578 registered voters, just over 200 (209) cast a verified ballot.

Photo at top: Municipal elections in Nome take place at Old St. Joe’s on Tuesday, October 3rd (KNOM/ 2014)

Recent Posts



Christmas 2023

Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.