Pro-class racers gear up for Iron Dog 2023

Two men standing next to the snow machines holding a checkered flag at the finish line

Twenty-five teams are set to speed across 2,500 miles of Alaska in this year’s Iron Dog snowmachine race.

Among the pro class roster are returning champions, Nick Olstad and Tyler Aklestad. Team #7 has won two of the last three Iron Dograces. Olstad is also one of only a few racers to claim five Iron Dog championships.

Representing Nome this year is the veteran Mike Morgan of team 10 competing with his usual partner Chris Olds. The Miller brothers of Team #23, Jarvis and Jordan return, along with Cody Moen, who is still considered a rookie. This marks his fourth attempt to finish the world’s toughest, longest snowmachine race.

All pro teams will start in Big Lake on Friday, Feb. 17, and head north through the Northwest Arctic Borough–Kotzebue loop before going west to Nome for the halfway ceremony. The top racers are expected to reach Nome on Monday afternoon or later.


Image at top: Iron Dog 2022 champions Tyler Aklestad (left) and Nick Olstad (right) celebrate their win at the Iron Dog ceremonial finish in Wasilla. Photo by Erin Aklestad. Used with permission of Iron Dog 2022.