Seven candidates on ballot for Nome’s 2022 Municipal Election

A long table with a gavel resting on it. American flag in background.

After the deadline to file for Nome’s municipal election passed, only one of six seats on the ballot has two candidates running for the same position.

According to the public notice released last week by the City of Nome, Derek McLarty and Cameron Piscoya are running for Common Council seat E. That seat is currently held by Jerald Brown, but he chose not to file for re-election.

The other Common Council seat up for election in October is Mark Johnson’s. He is the only candidate listed for that position.

Derek McLarty and Larry Pederson are the only candidates running for the two Utility Board seats. Then for the Nome School Board, Darlene Trigg and Marjorie Kunaq Tahbone are the only two candidates running for two open seats. Incumbent Barb Amarok did not file for re-election for seat E.

Barring a write-in campaign during the municipal election in October, that leaves one contested race and five seats with only one person for voters to choose from. The candidates’ eligibility can still be challenged, but must be submitted in writing to the Nome City Clerk before the election on Oct. 4.

Voters will also decide between two candidates to represent Nome on the Norton Sound Economic Development Corporation board. That seat is currently held by James “J.T.” Sherman who replaced Adem Boeckman last year during the special runoff election. Sherman will face off against Derek McLarty, who has filed for three total positions in the upcoming municipal election.

Image at top: Two seats on the Nome Common Council are up for election this October. Photo by Brisa Alarcon, KNOM.