780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

Iron Dog champions return to world’s longest snow machine race

This February, about 30 teams of pro-class racers will embark on a more than 2,600-mile journey from Big Lake to Nome and back.

Winners of the past four years will be racing head to head in the 2022 Iron Dog: Brad George, Robert Schachle, Tyler Aklestad, Nick Oldstad, Mike Morgan of Nome and Chris Olds. Also representing Nome are rookie Cody Moen, Evan and Steffen Booth and Jarvis and Jordan Miller. Other racers from Western Alaska include Steven Williamson of Noorvik, Jim Baldwin of Kiana and Christofer Collins and Douglas Wicken of Kotzebue.

Iron Dog events reopened to the public this year. Last year’s route changes remain for 2022, including the additional 400-mile loop north through Buckland and Kotzebue to Kiana and back through Selawik on the returning route.

The race begins with a ceremonial start in Wasilla and officially starts in Big Lake at 11 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 19. Racers are expected to arrive at the half-way point in Nome on Tuesday, Feb. 22. Teams restart the next morning and are anticipated to cross the finish line in Big Lake on Friday, Feb. 25.
KNOM will broadcast Iron Dog’s livestream for the start and will bring you the latest race updates during regular newscast times Monday through Friday. And as always, we’ll have live coverage of the first racers’ arrival into Nome, and the race restart from the sea ice.

Image at top: 2021 Iron Dog Finish: Team #14 Casey Boylan and Bryan Leslie Towing Into the finish after suffering mechanical issues 30 miles from Big Lake. (Photo from Iron Dog, James Wicken)

Recent Posts



Christmas 2023

Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.