780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

NSEDC election headed for runoff

A man wearing a face mask and blue shirt holding up a long piece of paper. He is at a polling booth.

With four candidates in the running for Nome’s NSEDC representative, none managed to garner the 40% of the vote required to win the election. Nome will hold a run-off election between Addy Aklaasiaq Ahmasuk and James “J.T.” Sherman on Tuesday, Nov. 2.

The rest of the election results are below. The Nome Common Council certified these results on Oct. 7. For contested races, the winner’s name is in bold.

Mayor (two-year term)John K. Handeland – 296 votes (84.3%)
Common Council Seat C (three-year term)Scot Henderson – 198 votes (53.8%)
Derek McLarty – 158 votes (42.9%)
Common Council Seat D (three-year term)Meghan “Sigvanna” Topkok – 319 votes (90.4%)
Utility Board Seat A (two-year term)Patrick Knodel – 337 votes (98.0%)
Utility Board Seat C (three-year term)David Barron – 342 votes (96.1%)
School Board Seat B (three-year term)Bob Metcalf – 343 votes (97.4%)
School Board Seat C (three-year term)Paul G. Kosto – 135 votes (36.4%)
Nancy M. Mendenhall – 230 votes (62.0%)
School Board Seat D (three-year term)Sandy Martinson – 338 votes (96.0%)
NSEDC representativeAddy Aklaasiaq Ahmasuk – 99 votes (25.5%)
Eric Osbourne – 61 votes (15.7%)
Wesley Perkins – 71 votes (18.3%)
James T. “J.T.” Sherman – 152 votes (39.2%)

A total of 388 voters cast ballots on Oct. 5.

Update: This story was originally published with the preliminary results but is now updated with current election results.

Image at top: City Clerk Bryant Hammond prints the election results from the voting machine. Photo by Sean Milligan, KNOM. Oct 5, 2021.

Recent Posts

Most Read Stories

Lawsuit Against Myrtle Irene’s Owner Moves Forward As Gold Mining and Reality T.V. Season Resumes

The Cost of Living in Alaska
Love Letters to Home: Katie Smith of Nome, Alaska

FBI Agents Begin to Leave Nome, Agency’s Involvement in Okpealuk Investigation Provides Clarity for Some



Christmas 2023

Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.

Scroll To Top