780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

Nome holds its municipal and NSEDC elections today

City Clerk Bryant Hammond of Nome counts votes cast at the local polling place, Old St. Joe's. Photo from Emily Hofstaedter, KNOM (2019)

City of Nome holds its municipal election and Norton Sound Economic Development Corporation special election today, on Oct. 5.

All voting takes place at Old St. Joe’s in Anvil City Square.

For the position of Mayor, a two-year term, John K. Handeland runs uncontested.

For the Common Council Seat C, a three-year term, Derek McLarty and Scot Henderson are running, and for Seat D, also a three-year term, Meghan Topkok runs uncontested.

For the Utility Board Seat A, a two-year term, Patrick Knodel runs uncontested. For Seat C, a three-year term, David Barron runs uncontested.

For the School Board Seat B, a three-year term, Bob Metcalf runs uncontested. For Seat C, a three-year term, Nancy M. Mendenhall and Paul G. Kosto are running. For Seat D, a three-year term, Sandy Martinson runs uncontested.

For NSEDC, the candidates are Addy Ahmasuk, Eric Osbourne, Wesley Perkins, and James Sherman. These four candidates are running to represent Nome on the NSEDC board of directors.

Polls are open today from 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. The City of Nome asks voters to wear a mask and to social distance.

Image at top: City Clerk Bryant Hammond of Nome counts votes cast at the local polling place, Old St. Joe’s. Photo from Emily Hofstaedter, KNOM (2019).

Share this story


Recent Posts

Research Consortium Releases Findings From April Visit to Nome

A comprehensive summary of citizens’ concerns and comments regarding upcoming changes in Nome was released last week by the Nome Coordinated Research Consortium (NCRC). The group hosted two community workshops in April to gather community input on infrastructure, economics, and climate change relating to the Nome port expansion project, mining,

Read More »

Shorefast Ice Breaks Free From Nome, First Barge Expected June 2

Shorefast ice has finally released its grip on the shoreline of Nome. The annual breakup event is a big moment for the community that effects local fishing, commerce, and regional wildlife patterns. Ice clearing from the Nome Harbor opens the opportunity for barges loaded with cargo to arrive. City of

Read More »
Chum salmon. Photo: U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Weak Salmon Runs Expected in 2024 for Norton Sound

The Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) has released their 2024 Norton Sound Salmon Management Outlook. The report details expectations for salmon runs in the Norton Sound and Port Clarence districts, including management strategies to ensure sustainable fishing practices. Salmon Run Projections The ADF&G projects varied outcomes for different

Read More »



Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.