Thirteen Eligible Candidates Running for Office in 2017 Municipal Elections

Municipal elections in Nome take place at Old St. Joe's on Tuesday, October 3rd.

With Nome’s Municipal Elections less than a week away, all candidates who have filed to run for various seats have been deemed eligible thus far.

According to City Clerk Bryant Hammond, as of Thursday morning, no one has challenged any of the 13 candidates’ eligibility.

Some candidates are running unopposed, such as Mayor Richard Beneville and Utility Board member Carl Emmons. Barring a successful write-in campaign, both men, along with Patrick Knodel and Brandy Arrington, will keep seats in their respective offices.

Nome’s City Council Seat A, which is currently occupied by Tom Sparks, has three declared candidates running: Adam Martinson, Tom Ukallaysaaq Okleasik, and Lucas Sawyer. Sparks announced in August that he will not seek another term on the Council.

All other races involve one or two contenders. Louis Green Sr. and Doug Johnson are running for City Council Seat B. Keith Morrison and Jennifer Reader are vying for Seat A on the Nome School Board, while Sandy Martinson and Panganga Pungowiyi are both hopefuls for Seat D.

For registered Nome voters who want to help get their candidates elected but can’t make it to Old St. Joe’s on Election day, Hammond says the first floor of City Hall is open for absentee ballots.

“If they cannot make it on Tuesday, then they can come in and fill out an in-person application for an absentee ballot and vote,” stated Hammond.

Polls for Nome’s 2018 Municipal Elections will open at 8am on Tuesday, October 3rd; voting closes at 8pm.

Image at top: file photo: inside Nome’s polling place, Old St. Joe’s, on Election Day 2014. Photo: David Dodman, KNOM.