780 AM | 96.1 FM 


(907) 443-5221

Multiple Wins for the Nanooks at Only Home Wrestling Meet of the Season

two teenagers compete in a wrestling match in a school gymnasium with a crowd watching and referee
Wrestlers compete at Nome's only home meet of the season on Saturday, October 20th, 2018. Photo: Katie Kazmierski, KNOM.

Nome’s only home wrestling meet of the season brought in several wins for the Nanooks over the weekend.

After Friday and Saturday afternoon’s round-robins, the top four wrestlers from each round-robin competed in four championship brackets. Walking away as first place champions from Nome were Paris Hebel, Caleb Evatt, Ben Cross, Owen Hebel, Starr Erikson, Ethan Hannon, Lucas Marvin, Darlin Ahwinona-Smith, and Hayden Leeper.

Coming in first for the 112-weight class was Paris Hebel, who won by fall over against Eddy Jimmy of Bethel. Several winning Nanooks went head-to-head against fellow Nanooks, Caleb Evatt defeating JJ Marble for the 125-weight class, and Ben Cross taking home 1st place for the 145-weight class over Tobin Hobbs. Owen Hebel won by major decision over David Cardenas, securing his own first place victory for the 160-weight class.

Of the Nanooks girls, Starr Erikson again earned first place for her 112-weight class, winning by fall over against Kotzebue’s Zaida Badwin. Katie Smith came in at 2nd overall for her 125-weight class.

As for middle school finals, Hayden Leeper faced Cody Aningayou of Gambell and won first place for the duel 80 & 86 weight class. Ethan Hannon earned first place for the 110-weight class, winning by decision over Nome’s Duke McGuffy. As for the 122-weight class, Nome’s Karlin Ahwinona-Smith claimed victory over St. Michael’s Harley Pete. Nanooks Lucas Marvin and Dalton Buffas went head to head for the combined 134 & 142 weight class, Lucas Marvin taking home first place.

Tristan Thrasher of Stebbins, who left the match due to injury, won by default over Elden Cross for weight class 152.

Next up for the Nanook wrestlers is the Bush Brawl in Kotzebue this weekend, starting Friday at 3 pm for elementary and 6 pm for high school and junior high.

Image at top: Wrestlers compete at Nome’s only home meet of the season on Saturday, October 20th, 2018. Photo: Katie Kazmierski, KNOM.

Did you enjoy this News story?

Consider supporting our work by becoming a one-time or recurring donor.

Share this story


Recent Posts

A silver / coho salmon, held just out of the water

ADF&G Announces 24 Hour Commercial Fishing Period for Salmon

The Alaska Department of Fish and Game (ADF&G) has announced that commercial salmon fishing will open in Norton Sound Subdistricts 1-2 and 4-6 for a 24-hour period starting Saturday, July 20. ADF&G hopes to use the window to assess early-season Coho salmon abundance and ensure future management actions are well-informed.

Read More »

July 4: Rick Thoman’s Climate Highlight for Western Alaska

The following is a transcript from Rick Thoman’s weekly “Climate Highlight for Western Alaska” provided to KNOM Radio. Thoman is a Climate Specialist with the Alaska Center for Climate Assessment and Policy at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. As we head into the latter days of July, daylights starting to

Read More »



Work for Us:




(907) 443-5221 


(907) 868-1200 

Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge that KNOM Radio Mission is located on the customary lands of Indigenous peoples. 

Based in the Bering Strait region, KNOM broadcasts throughout the homelands of the Iñupiaq, Siberian Yup’ik, Cup’ik and Yup’ik peoples.